I Could Explain

I could explain
if you were gorgeous
if you act the way you did
because you could
I could explain
if your magnetisma
made people fall in line
meant that I should

Yeah I would know
the hierarchy
reverse patriarchy
that governs these things
So all the pain
would just give way
to gnarled acceptance
that this is the way it is

But the void
is the thing
that I keep on noticing
And still I struggle
to bridge the gap
with anything less than crap

I could explain
if you were a genius
who imparted wisdom
from a place of strength
I could explain
if your intelligence
made people bow to
grasp of the subject

Yeah I’d have heard
the almost shameless
way you put across
superior knowledge
And take your word
with gratitude while
getting another beer
straight from the fridge

But the void
is the thing
that I keep on noticing
And still I struggle
to shed some light
on anything more than shite

I could explain
oh, I could explain
I could explain
oh, I could explain
I could explain
oh, I could explain
I could explain
oh, I could explain

Leave a Reply

